Michael Ridpath books in order – Series List June 2024

Michael Ridpath is a prolific author known for his gripping thrillers and crime novels. He has written a number of books that typically revolve around financial crime, espionage, and power struggles. Ridpath’s works are known for their intricate plots and compelling characters, making him a highly acclaimed writer in the crime fiction genre.

Michael Ridpath Books in Order

  1. Where the Shadows Lie (Fire & Ice #1)
  2. Far North (Fire & Ice #2)
  3. Meltwater (Fire & Ice #3)
  4. Sea of Stone (Fire & Ice #4)
  5. Free to Trade
  6. Final Venture
  7. Fatal Error
  8. The Wanderer (Fire and Ice #5)
  9. Amnesia
  10. The Marketmaker

Overview of Michael Ridpath Books in Order

Where the Shadows Lie (Fire & Ice #1)

“Where the Shadows Lie” by Michael Ridpath is the first book in the Fire & Ice series. The story follows Detective Magnus Jonson, an Icelandic-American police officer based in Boston. After being involved in a violent shootout, Magnus is sent to Iceland on a routine assignment to avoid the fallout. Once there, he becomes embroiled in a murder investigation as he uncovers a web of deception, conspiracy, and ambition that reaches into the highest levels of Icelandic society. As Magnus delves deeper into the case, he discovers that the crime may be connected to a series of historical events that have long been buried in the shadows.

The novel is a gripping blend of crime, mystery, and Icelandic history, as Magnus navigates the complex and sometimes treacherous landscape of his homeland. Ridpath’s writing is atmospheric and evocative, immersing readers in the stunning and rugged beauty of Iceland. The protagonist’s dual identity as an American and an Icelander adds an intriguing layer to the narrative, as he struggles to reconcile his two worlds and find his place within them. The novel’s intricate plot and well-developed characters make it a compelling read for fans of both crime fiction and historical thrillers.

Overall, “Where the Shadows Lie” is a compelling and atmospheric crime novel that offers a unique blend of mystery, history, and cultural exploration. Michael Ridpath’s evocative writing and intricate plotting make this book a must-read for fans of Nordic noir and historical fiction. With its complex characters and gripping storyline, the novel sets the stage for an exciting and immersive series that promises to captivate readers from start to finish.

Far North (Fire & Ice #2)

The content is being updated …

Meltwater (Fire & Ice #3)

The content is being updated …

Sea of Stone (Fire & Ice #4)

The content is being updated …

Free to Trade

The content is being updated …

Final Venture

“The content is being updated …”

Fatal Error

The content is being updated …

The Wanderer (Fire and Ice #5)

“The Wanderer” is the fifth book in the Fire and Ice series by Michael Ridpath. The novel is a thrilling combination of crime, mystery, and adventure. The story follows the protagonist, Magnus Jonson, a detective from Boston who returns to his native Iceland to investigate a case involving a missing man and a mysterious yacht. As Magnus delves into the investigation, he uncovers a complex web of intrigue and danger that takes him across different countries and puts his life at risk. Along the way, he must confront personal and professional challenges while unravelling the truth behind the disappearance.

The novel is filled with intricate plot twists, vivid descriptions of Icelandic landscapes, and a deep exploration of relationships and human nature. Ridpath’s writing is engaging and suspenseful, keeping readers on the edge of their seats as the story unfolds. The characters are well-developed, and the author skillfully weaves together various subplots to create a compelling and immersive reading experience. “The Wanderer” is a gripping addition to the Fire and Ice series and a must-read for fans of crime fiction and Nordic noir.

With its captivating narrative and evocative setting, “The Wanderer” showcases Michael Ridpath’s talent for creating compelling and engaging thrillers. The novel is a page-turner that will keep readers guessing and entertained from start to finish. Whether you are a fan of the Fire and Ice series or a newcomer to Ridpath’s work, “The Wanderer” is a thrilling and satisfying read that is sure to leave a lasting impression.


The content is being updated …

The Marketmaker

“The Marketmaker” by Michael Ridpath is a financial thriller that follows the story of an ambitious stock trader, Jay, who is determined to make his mark in the cutthroat world of investment banking. When he is offered a job at a prestigious trading firm in London, Jay sees it as the opportunity of a lifetime. However, as he delves deeper into the corrupt and high-stakes world of the financial markets, Jay finds himself caught in a web of deceit and betrayal.

The novel explores the inner workings of the financial industry, shedding light on the power struggles, greed, and manipulation that drive the market. As Jay navigates through the treacherous waters of the trading floor, he must confront his own moral compass and decide where his loyalties lie. Along the way, he encounters a colorful cast of characters, from cunning traders to ruthless executives, each with their own agenda.

As the tension rises and the stakes get higher, Jay must rely on his wits and determination to survive in this dangerous game. With its fast-paced and gripping narrative, “The Marketmaker” offers an insider’s look into the world of high finance, as well as an exploration of the ethical dilemmas that come with pursuing success in a ruthless industry.

Who is Michael Ridpath

Prior to embarking on a career as a writer, Michael Ridpath worked as a bond trader in the City of London. His literary journey began with several successful financial thrillers that were published in over 30 languages, before transitioning to a crime series featuring the Icelandic detective Magnus Jonson. Ridpath has also authored five stand-alone thrillers, with his latest work, The Diplomat’s Wife, hitting the shelves in February 2021. He currently resides in London and offers a free copy of his novella, The Polar Bear Killing, to those who sign up for his quarterly newsletter.

Author Michael Ridpath

In conclusion, Michael Ridpath’s novels offer readers a captivating journey through the worlds of finance, crime, and Iceland. His meticulous research and attention to detail create a realistic and immersive experience for the reader. Through his gripping plots and well-developed characters, Ridpath also delivers important ideological lessons about the values of perseverance, justice, and the consequences of greed and corruption. Whether exploring the cutthroat world of investment banking or unraveling a complex murder mystery, Ridpath’s novels leave a lasting impact and showcase the author’s skillful storytelling.

FAQs about author Michael Ridpath

The content is being updated …

Published at 9:02 - 21/04/2024
Relate To