Steven Saylor books in order – The Complete List June 2024

Steven Saylor is an American author known for his compelling historical mystery novels set in ancient Rome. He has written over a dozen books that intricately weave together historical events, political intrigue, and crime-solving in ancient Rome. His novels are celebrated for their meticulous research and vivid portrayal of life in the Roman Empire.

Steven Saylor Books in Order

  1. Roman Blood (Roma Sub Rosa, #1)
  2. Roma (Roma, #1)
  3. Arms of Nemesis (Roma Sub Rosa, #2)
  4. Catilina’s Riddle (Roma Sub Rosa, #3)
  5. A Murder on the Appian Way (Roma Sub Rosa, #5)
  6. The House of the Vestals (Roma Sub Rosa, #6)
  7. The Venus Throw (Roma Sub Rosa, #4)
  8. Last Seen in Massilia (Roma Sub Rosa, #8)
  9. Rubicon (Roma Sub Rosa, #7)
  10. Empire (Roma, #2)

Summary of Steven Saylor Books in Order

Roman Blood (Roma Sub Rosa, #1)

The content is being updated …

Roma (Roma, #1)

The content is being updated …

Arms of Nemesis (Roma Sub Rosa, #2)

The content is being updated …

Catilina’s Riddle (Roma Sub Rosa, #3)

The content is being updated …

A Murder on the Appian Way (Roma Sub Rosa, #5)

In “A Murder on the Appian Way (Roma Sub Rosa, #5)” by Steven Saylor, the story follows the famous Roman investigator Gordianus the Finder as he is called to solve a murder on the Appian Way. The victim is the noblewoman Clodia, who was found strangled in her bedroom. As Gordianus delves into the case, he must navigate the political intrigue and personal vendettas of the Roman elite, all while trying to uncover the truth behind Clodia’s death.

The novel is set against the backdrop of ancient Rome, bringing to life the vibrant and complex society of the time. Saylor’s attention to historical detail and his ability to weave a compelling mystery make “A Murder on the Appian Way” a captivating read. The book also delves into the personal life of Gordianus, adding depth to the character and making the story more engaging for readers.

As Gordianus untangles the web of lies and deceit surrounding Clodia’s murder, he uncovers shocking secrets that could have far-reaching consequences for Rome. With its rich historical setting and intricate plot, “A Murder on the Appian Way” is a gripping historical mystery that will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the final revelation.

The House of the Vestals (Roma Sub Rosa, #6)

“The House of the Vestals” is the sixth installment in the Roma Sub Rosa series by Steven Saylor. The novel follows the exploits of Gordianus the Finder, a detective living in ancient Rome. In this installment, Gordianus finds himself investigating a series of murders that seem to be connected to the Vestal Virgins, a group of revered priestesses in the city. As he delves deeper into the case, Gordianus uncovers a web of intrigue, betrayal, and political power plays.

The story is set against the backdrop of ancient Rome, providing a rich and immersive historical setting for the mystery to unfold. Saylor expertly weaves together elements of historical fiction and detective story, creating a compelling and atmospheric narrative. Through Gordianus’ investigation, readers are given a glimpse into the intricacies of Roman society, its customs, and its power structures.

“The House of the Vestals” is a riveting and well-researched historical mystery that will appeal to fans of both the genre and ancient history. Saylor’s meticulous attention to detail and his vivid portrayal of ancient Rome bring the setting to life, while the complex and suspenseful plot keeps readers engaged until the very end.

The Venus Throw (Roma Sub Rosa, #4)

“The Venus Throw” is the fourth book in Steven Saylor’s Roma Sub Rosa series, set in ancient Rome. The story follows the protagonist, Gordianus the Finder, as he investigates the death of a famous orator, who is found murdered in the middle of a crowded marketplace. The orator’s wife, a beautiful and enigmatic woman, enlists Gordianus to find the killer and clear her name.

As Gordianus delves deeper into the investigation, he uncovers a web of political intrigue, betrayal, and scandal that reaches the highest levels of Roman society. Along the way, he navigates the treacherous social and political landscape of the city, encountering a cast of colorful and complex characters. The detective’s journey to uncover the truth takes him from the opulent estates of the Roman elite to the seedy underbelly of the city, where he confronts danger and deception at every turn.

As the plot unfolds, Gordianus must use all of his wit, intuition, and courage to solve the mystery and bring the killer to justice. “The Venus Throw” is a gripping historical thriller that immerses readers in the vibrant world of ancient Rome, complete with its rich tapestry of characters, cultures, and customs. Steven Saylor’s skillful storytelling and meticulous attention to historical detail make this novel a must-read for fans of historical fiction and mystery.

Last Seen in Massilia (Roma Sub Rosa, #8)

The content is being updated …

Rubicon (Roma Sub Rosa, #7)

“Rubicon (Roma Sub Rosa, #7)” by Steven Saylor is a historical fiction novel set in ancient Rome. The story follows the main character, Gordianus the Finder, as he becomes entangled in the political turmoil and conspiracy surrounding the rise of Julius Caesar and the fall of the Roman Republic. Gordianus is thrust into a world of treachery, power struggles, and danger as he navigates his way through the complex web of Roman politics, encountering various historical figures along the way.

As Caesar’s power grows and tensions rise, Gordianus finds himself in the midst of a precarious situation, torn between loyalty to his friend and the desire to remain neutral in the conflict. The novel provides a vivid and gripping portrayal of the events leading up to Caesar’s crossing of the Rubicon, a defining moment in Roman history. Saylor skillfully weaves together historical details and fictional elements to create a compelling narrative that brings this pivotal period in Roman history to life.

“Rubicon (Roma Sub Rosa, #7)” offers a fascinating and immersive exploration of ancient Rome, filled with political intrigue, betrayal, and drama. Saylor’s meticulous research and evocative storytelling make this novel a compelling and engaging read for fans of historical fiction and ancient history. With its rich historical detail and compelling characters, “Rubicon” offers a gripping portrayal of a pivotal moment in Roman history.

Empire (Roma, #2)

The content is being updated …

Biography Steven Saylor

Steven Saylor is a renowned author known for his long-running Roma Sub Rosa series featuring Gordianus the Finder. His work also includes the New York Times bestselling novel, Roma, and its follow-up, Empire. In addition to his writing, Saylor has made appearances as an on-air expert on Roman history and life on The History Channel. Born in Texas, he graduated with high honors from The University of Texas at Austin, where he studied history and classics. Saylor currently divides his time between Berkeley, California, and Austin, Texas.

Author Steven Saylor

In conclusion, the books written by Steven Saylor offer a rich and detailed exploration of ancient Rome, bringing to life historical events and figures through compelling narratives and meticulous research. Saylor’s work also offers important ideological lessons, highlighting the complexities of power, corruption, and morality in ancient societies, and encouraging readers to critically examine the parallels between the past and the present. Through his evocative storytelling and thought-provoking themes, Saylor’s novels provide a valuable insight into the human condition and the enduring relevance of ancient history.

FAQs about author Steven Saylor

The content is being updated …

Published at 9:51 - 09/02/2024
Relate To