Wendy Wan-Long Shang books in order – All Book Series 06/2024

Wendy Wan-Long Shang is an author known for writing books that explore themes of identity, family, and culture. She has written several books for young readers, including “The Great Wall of Lucy Wu” and “This Is Just a Test.”

Wendy Wan-Long Shang Books in Order

  1. The Great Wall of Lucy Wu
  2. The Secret Battle of Evan Pao
  3. Not Your All-American Girl
  4. This Is Just a Test
  5. The Way Home Looks Now
  6. The Rice in the Pot Goes Round and Round
  7. Corinne
  8. Corinne to the Rescue
  9. Bubble Trouble
  10. Over the Moon: The Novelization

Overview of Wendy Wan-Long Shang Books in Order

The Great Wall of Lucy Wu

“The Great Wall of Lucy Wu” by Wendy Wan-Long Shang is a novel about a 12-year-old Chinese-American girl named Lucy Wu. Lucy is struggling with adjusting to her new school and to her family’s changing dynamics. Her brother, who used to share a room with her, now wants his own space, and Lucy is forced to share her room with her great-aunt, who has come to stay with the family. Lucy is also dealing with the pressures of being good at basketball, her classmates’ teasing about her Chinese heritage, and her conflicting feelings about being different from her peers.

The story follows Lucy as she navigates these challenges and discovers the value of family, friendship, and embracing her cultural heritage. Lucy learns to appreciate her great-aunt’s wisdom and traditions, and she also finds unexpected friendships with her classmates. Over the course of the novel, Lucy comes to understand that being true to herself, embracing her heritage, and accepting change are key to finding her place in the world.

“The Great Wall of Lucy Wu” is a heartfelt and engaging story that explores themes of identity, family, and self-acceptance. Wendy Wan-Long Shang’s novel offers a relatable and inspiring portrayal of a young girl’s journey to finding her own voice and place in the world.

The Secret Battle of Evan Pao

“The Secret Battle of Evan Pao” by Wendy Wan-Long Shang tells the story of Evan, a Chinese-American teenager who struggles to balance his cultural identity with his desire to fit in at his American high school. The novel is set during the late 1960s, a time when tensions between China and the United States were high due to the Vietnam War and the Cultural Revolution. Evan faces discrimination and bullying at school, which only worsens after he is falsely accused of cheating on a test. Determined to prove his innocence and stand up for himself, Evan embarks on a personal journey of self-discovery and resilience.

As Evan grapples with the challenges of being caught between two cultures, he also navigates personal relationships with his family and friends. The book delves into the complexities of identity, the power of resilience, and the importance of standing up for oneself in the face of adversity. Through Evan’s story, the author sheds light on the universal struggle of finding one’s place in the world and the courage it takes to assert one’s own identity.

“The Secret Battle of Evan Pao” is a coming-of-age novel that captures the emotional turmoil and growth of a young man trying to find his place in the world. The book offers an insightful and poignant exploration of identity, resilience, and the power of self-empowerment. Wendy Wan-Long Shang’s poignant storytelling and rich character development make this novel a compelling and impactful read.

Not Your All-American Girl

The content is being updated …

This Is Just a Test

The content is being updated …

The Way Home Looks Now

“The Way Home Looks Now” by Wendy Wan-Long Shang tells the story of an 11-year-old boy named Peter Lee and the impact his father’s sudden death has on his family. Set in the 1970s, the book explores themes of grief, family dynamics, and the power of resilience. As Peter navigates the complexities of life without his father, he starts to find solace in baseball and learns to find his own way to cope with his loss.

The novel also delves into the difficulties of assimilating into a new culture, as Peter’s family is the only Asian family in their predominantly white community. Through the challenges of growing up and dealing with loss, Peter learns to find his place in the world while staying true to his heritage. “The Way Home Looks Now” is a touching and heartfelt story about the universal experiences of grief and resilience, as well as the importance of family and community.

The book emphasizes the importance of communication and understanding within a family. As Peter and his mother struggle to come to terms with their loss, they find ways to support each other and rebuild their lives. Through their journey, they develop a deeper understanding of each other and the power of love and forgiveness.

The Rice in the Pot Goes Round and Round

“The Rice in the Pot Goes Round and Round” by Wendy Wan-Long Shang tells the story of a young girl named Anna who struggles with her identity as a Chinese-American. Anna’s mother compares her to the rice in the pot, saying that she must stay close to her Chinese roots and not stray too far. This causes inner conflict for Anna as she tries to find her own sense of identity while also honoring her cultural heritage.

As she navigates her dual identity, Anna also discovers the concept of yin and yang. She begins to understand that she can embrace both her Chinese and American sides without feeling like she has to choose one over the other. Through a series of heartwarming and sometimes humorous encounters, Anna learns to appreciate her cultural background while also being proud of the unique person she is becoming.

The book beautifully captures the struggles of many second-generation immigrants as they try to balance their heritage with their desire to fit in and be accepted. Through Anna’s journey, readers are reminded of the importance of understanding and embracing one’s own identity, regardless of external expectations. With its relatable and heartfelt storytelling, “The Rice in the Pot Goes Round and Round” is a meaningful and uplifting read for children and adults alike.


The content is being updated …

Corinne to the Rescue

The content is being updated …

Bubble Trouble

The content is being updated …

Over the Moon: The Novelization

The content is being updated …

Who is Wendy Wan-Long Shang

My parents, who were raised in China, didn’t have any beloved childhood books to pass down to me, so I often had to explore the library on my own. When I shared this with a friend, she was surprised, and I realized the significance of not having that connection. As a parent now, it’s difficult to imagine not having that link to my own past. My book delves into the exploration of the stories we uncover about our families and how they shape us. I hope to encourage readers to seek out the impactful stories, big and small, within their own families.

Author Wendy Wan-Long Shang

In conclusion, Wendy Wan-Long Shang’s books offer a diverse and engaging collection of stories that navigate themes of identity, family, and cultural heritage. Through her characters, Shang imparts valuable ideological lessons about empathy, understanding, and the importance of embracing one’s cultural roots. Her novels not only entertain readers but also provide a platform for discussions about the complexities of individual and communal identities, fostering a deeper appreciation for diversity and the human experience.

FAQs about author Wendy Wan-Long Shang

The content is being updated …

Published at 9:06 - 16/04/2024
Relate To