Jens Peter Jacobsen books in order – New List 06/2024

Jens Peter Jacobsen was a Danish author known for his naturalist writing style and exploration of themes such as love, death, and the human experience. He only wrote two novels, “Niels Lyhne” and “Marie Grubbe,” as well as a collection of short stories and essays. Despite his limited body of work, Jacobsen’s writing had a significant impact on the literary world and inspired other influential authors such as Thomas Mann and Rainer Maria Rilke.

Jens Peter Jacobsen Books in Order

  1. Niels Lyhne
  2. Mogens and Other Stories
  3. Marie Grubbe
  4. Mogens
  5. Pesten i Bergamo
  6. Et skud i tågen
  7. Poems by J.P. Jacobsen Translated from the Danish by P. Selver
  8. Niels Lyhne
  9. Digte og udkast
  10. Fru Fønss

Overview of Jens Peter Jacobsen Books in Order

Niels Lyhne

“Niels Lyhne” by Jens Peter Jacobsen is a Danish novel that follows the life of the titular character, Niels Lyhne, as he grows from a young boy to a disillusioned adult. The story explores Niels’ struggles with faith, love, and the pursuit of meaning in a world filled with suffering and disappointment. Through Niels’ experiences, the novel delves into deeper themes of existentialism, the nature of reality, and the human condition.

One of the central themes of the novel is Niels’ search for spiritual fulfillment and his disillusionment with organized religion. The story examines how Niels grapples with his beliefs and experiences a crisis of faith as he confronts the harsh realities of life. As Niels tries to find meaning and purpose, he encounters a series of personal and professional setbacks that test his resilience and determination.

As Niels navigates the complexities of love and relationships, he experiences heartache and loss, shaping his worldview and understanding of the world. The novel delves into Niels’ emotional and psychological struggles, as well as his evolving perspectives on love and human connection. Through Niels’ journey, the novel offers a poignant exploration of the human experience, the fragility of existence, and the search for meaning in an ultimately indifferent world.

Mogens and Other Stories

“Mogens and Other Stories” is a collection of short stories by Danish author Jens Peter Jacobsen. The book consists of nine stories that are often considered as some of the finest examples of naturalist writing in Danish literature. The title story “Mogens” is about a young man who struggles with the tension between his artistic aspirations and the conventional expectations of society.

The stories in this collection explore themes such as love, art, nature, and the human condition. Many of the characters in these stories are artists or intellectuals who grapple with existential questions and societal constraints. Jacobsen’s writing style is characterized by its detailed and evocative descriptions of nature and the human psyche, which adds depth and complexity to the characters and their experiences.

The collection showcases Jacobsen’s keen insight into the human mind and his ability to capture the nuances of human emotions and relationships. Through the diverse characters and situations depicted in the stories, Jacobsen offers a profound exploration of the human experience and the challenges of living an authentic and meaningful life. “Mogens and Other Stories” is a thought-provoking and introspective collection that continues to resonate with readers today.

Marie Grubbe

The content is being updated …


The content is being updated …

Pesten i Bergamo

“The content is being updated …”

Et skud i tågen

“The content is being updated …”

Poems by J.P. Jacobsen Translated from the Danish by P. Selver

The content is being updated …

Niels Lyhne

“Niels Lyhne” by Jens Peter Jacobsen is a Danish novel that follows the protagonist Niels Lyhne from childhood to adulthood as he grapples with the complexities of life, love, and faith. Niels is an aspiring poet who struggles to find his place in the world and reconcile his romantic ideals with the harsh realities of life. Throughout the novel, Niels experiences love and loss, confronts his own mortality, and searches for meaning in a world that seems indifferent to his desires and dreams.

The novel is a deeply philosophical exploration of the human condition, as Niels confronts the inherent contradictions and conflicts of existence. Jacobsen’s prose is lyrical and introspective, delving into the inner workings of Niels’ mind as he grapples with his own beliefs and experiences. The novel offers a poignant meditation on the nature of love, the pursuit of artistic expression, and the inevitability of suffering and loss.

As Niels navigates the complexities of life, he must confront the harsh realities of mortality and the fleeting nature of happiness. The novel is a poignant exploration of the human experience, capturing the beauty and tragedy of existence through Niels’ personal journey. “Niels Lyhne” is a timeless literary work that continues to resonate with readers as it examines the universal themes of love, loss, and the pursuit of meaning in a world that is both beautiful and cruel.

Digte og udkast

The content is being updated …

Fru Fønss

The content is being updated…

Biography Jens Peter Jacobsen

Jacobsen was born in Thisted in Jutland, the eldest of the five children of a prosperous merchant. He showed a remarkable talent for science, especially botany, as a boy. In 1870, he chose to pursue botany as a profession, but he was also secretly writing poetry at the same time. He was sent to report on the flora of the islands of Anholt and Læsø, and his fascination with the discoveries of Charles Darwin prompted him to translate Darwin’s work into Danish. Despite his tuberculosis, Jacobsen’s literary works are a significant contribution to Danish literature, including two novels, seven short stories, and a posthumous volume of poetry. His historical novel, Fru Marie Grubbe, was the first Danish treatment of a woman as a sexual creature. His second novel, Niels Lyhne, follows the fate of an atheist in a merciless world. His short stories, collected in Mogens og andre Noveller, cover themes of love, sorrow, revenge, and religious faith. In his poetry, Jacobsen was influenced by late romanticism and his works significantly inspired Danish symbolist poetry of the 1890s.

Author Jens Peter Jacobsen

Jens Peter Jacobsen’s books reflect a deep engagement with themes of existentialism, naturalism, and rebellion against social norms. Through his novels and short stories, Jacobsen explores the complexities of human emotion and the struggle to find meaning in a world governed by science and skepticism. His work emphasizes the importance of individual freedom and authenticity, while also delving into the interconnectedness of human experience and the forces that shape our lives. Overall, Jacobsen’s writings offer a poignant and thought-provoking examination of the human condition and the perennial quest for truth and purpose.

FAQs about author Jens Peter Jacobsen

The content is being updated …

Published at 9:16 - 19/01/2024
Relate To